#bookreviews

All The Bright Places- Review

Title: All The Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Nirven
Release Date: January 6th 2015
Rating: 8.5/10
Genre: Contemporary Romance and Fiction

All The Bright Places is a stand-alone contemporary novel. Before it was released, I heard a lot of positive things about this book so I decided to pick it up. It’s about a girl called Violet, who has Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder after a car incident with her sister and about a boy named Finch who is suicidal. They meet one day on a clock tower when Finch saves Violet from falling of the edge. From there Finch starts to follow Violet and then they are assigned a project together, where Finch takes Violet on a journey to see Natural Wonders. Their friendship makes them both realise things outside of their box. Many say that it is a cross between The Fault In Our Stars and Eleanor and Park and it truly is. That’s why I loved it probably as much or maybe even more than those books. I totally recommend it!

*DO NOT CONTINUE IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK- SPOILERS AHEAD*

This book was amazing and is now one of my favorite contemporary novels. The characters were witty and easy to relate to. It is written in two perspectives- Finch and Violet and it’s easy to tell the difference between the two as Jennifer Nirven clearly captures their personality through the thoughts and words of Violet and Finch.

What I like about this book is that Violet’s and Finch’s relationship wasn’t too rushed and the ending wasn’t to abrupt. I loved the storyline and the little inside jokes, such as, the Jovian- Plutonian gravitational effect and the Post-It notes. It was touching to see how these two teenagers who carried such burdens could still find comfort in one another and could find places where they could go so that they both didn’t need to care about anything anymore.

From the start of the book I knew that something bad and tragic was going to happen, so it wasn’t a surprise when I found out Finch ran away and committed suicide. I didn’t start crying until I read about Violet finishing off their journey to find all the things Finch left for her. For me one of the most touching parts was when he sent all the texts that Violet didn’t understand and she only started to get it once she visited all the places. I cried so much when Violet visited that church and found the letter and when she visited that wall filled with vandalism and she discovered Finch’s words. I think what really makes this book unique is the fact that she herself has gone through the loss of a boyfriend by suicide, so the thoughts of Violet after Finch’s death seem truly genuine.

Two days later Finch writes: I am on the highest branch
The next morning: We are written in paint.
Later that night: I believe in signs.
The next afternoon: The glow of Ultraviolet.
The day after that: A lake. A Prayer. It’s so lovely to be lonely in Private.
And then everything goes quiet.

I loved this book so much and I think it is definitely one that I’ll keep and remember forever. It touched me in so many different ways, the last few words she says about how she’ll wander to many places and how the whole incident with Finch inspired her. This book inspired me and I love it to bits. It truly is a wonderful book.

2 thoughts on “All The Bright Places- Review

Leave a Reply

