#bookreviews

My True Love Gave To Me- Review

Hello❤ I would just like to say a big thank you to Hermione Fowl, Books Over People and My Life As A Preteen Dork, for being active followers and supporters of blog. I can’t believe my blog has come this far. This is a review for the famous, My True Love Gave To Me novel.

Title: My True Love Gave To Me
Author: Edited by Stephanie Perkins- Stories written by: Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de la Pēna, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Leviathan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Stephanie Perkins, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor and Kiersten White
Release Date: October 14th, 2014
Overall Rating: 8/10 (Individual ratings for each short story will be determined down below)
Genre: Festive, Christmas, Contemporary, Romance

Last month, I bought My True Love Gave To Me which is a written collaborations of 12 Young-Adult authors who each write a short story. Each story has a festive theme around it. Some of them are about Christmas and some are about New Year’s eve. It is a really cute book with romantic and perfect stories. Like all Stephanie Perkins it is a story everyone wants on their bucket list. If you are looking for a cute romance story this one is for you.

*DO NOT CONTINUE IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS BOOK- SPOILERS AHEAD*

So for this review, I will do mini reviews for each short story:

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell (8.5/10): This books was really cute and was one of my favorites. It had many pop culture references, such as, the a thousand years song. Besides, who doesn’t like a Rainbow Rowell book? Noel and Mags relationship was so cute and was one of those relationships where they are originally just friends but that turns into something more. I loved how there relationship was documented on the same New Year’s Party, every year. Rainbow Rowell wrote yet another perfect love story and sure did not disappoint.

The Lady and The Fox by Kelly Link (6.5/10): I have never heard of Kelly Link when I read the story and I expected it to live up to the expectations of the previous story. However, it wasn’t quite what I was expecting. It was kind of weird and I did not like the main character, Miranda. She was quite annoying, especially how childish she acted around Fenny and also how she liked Fenny but was kissing Daniel. It was one of those stories where I was waiting for it to end. The writing wasn’t too bad, which was good, but the story line was quite confusing.

Angels In The Snow by Matt De La Pēna (8.5/10): I have never hear of Matt De La Pēna either. However, this book was soo cute and I loved it as much as Midnights. It was set in a realistic place and had a realistic plot. Hayley and Shy’s relationship was a bit rushed but that is understandable considering it was a short story. They both had their problems, which made the story seem more realistic. Shy was so cute and I loved him. The ending was really cute as well. Matt is quite a good writer, I might read one of his novels.

Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han (9/10): I really liked this story because it implemented a fairy-tale belief in the setting. I loved how a normal human girl became a helper of Santa Claus. It was an unreal storyline, but it felt real and this one really put me in a festive mood. Flynn and Natalie’s relationship was interesting to watch, as Natalie had a crush on Flynn. I loved how it ended with Flynn giving Lar’s address to Natalie, as a Christmas gift. It is one of those stories that are like The Polar Express, which is my favorite Christmas story, I will remember it every Christmas.

It’s A Yuletide Miracle by Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins (7.5/10): This story was one of the main ones out of all of the twelve as it was written by Stephanie Perkins. However, nothing stood out to me but it was still a cute romance novel. I loved how Marigold ran a YouTube Account, that added a bit of pop culture to the story. Marigold and North’s relationship did develop quickly, but that was expected since it was a short story. Like I said before, it was nothing special but it was still a cute story.

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan (7.5/10): I have never read one of David Levithan’s contemporary novels but this story was quite cute. The only problem was that it seemed awfully short compared to the other stories. I loved how it was very realistic and the plot was very unique.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black (9/10): I loved this one a lot and like Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me, it was one of those magical, Christmas, romance stories. I loved how mysterious Joachim is and how he was part of her imagination but turned out to be “real”. It reminded me of a Christmas Cinderella.

What The Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman (8/10): This was a cute story. I liked how Sophie Roth was a real genuine character who made mistakes but still had a happy ending which was nice. I liked Russell’s character as well.

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire (7/10):Unfortunately, this was one of the bad ones in the story. It was okay but there wasn’t enough romance. It seemed more like a recount than a proper love story. I liked the play idea and the fact that it was set in a high-school setting but it wasn’t extremely intriguing.

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White (8.5/10): I loved this story a lot. The relationship between the two main characters was built perfectly. I loved how every single detail in this story was Christmas themed and I just loved the love story.

Star of Bethlehem, by Ally Carter (7.5/10): I loved the complication in the story and how it was like a Christmas spin-off of The Prince and The Pauper. The resolution was really cute and it kind of including everything: drama and romance. This was really a great read.

Now for the last story: The Girl Who Woke The Dreamer by Laini Taylor (7/10): This story was a little weird which is probably why it wasn’t my favorite out of all the twelve. I did like the world-building but that kind of was the main focus instead of the actual romance.

Overall, I did like this book and I am in love with the cover. Even though, it is long past Christmas and New Year’s I highly recommend it to anyone.

#lovebooks❤

 

 

One thought on “My True Love Gave To Me- Review

Leave a Reply

