#bookreviews

Confess by Colleen Hoover-Review

Title: Confess
Author: Colleen Hoover
Release Date: March 10, 2015
Retail Price: $18.99
Overall Rating: 8.5/10
Genre: Romance, Contemporary

I was honestly left breathless by the novel. I devoured it in two days and words couldn’t explain what I felt at the end of it. It was perfect and it is a romance novel I’ll be recommending to everyone. Colleen Hoover blew me away by this novel and I can’t wait to be sharing this review with you. Thank you Simon and Schuster for sending this to me.

It is about Auburn Reed who has had an upsetting beginning, like Cinderella and then she discovers, Owen Gentry’s art studio. Owen, who paints art based on confessions given to him, has a tight connection to Auburn, that she doesn’t know. Owen keeps many secrets and so does Auburn but as they grow closer and fall in love they discover that in order, to keep their relationship all Owen has to do is to confess. Colleen Hoover skillfully creates a beautiful novel with an extraordinary relationship that displays that fate and true-love has no boundaries.

*SPOILERS AHEAD DO NOT CONTINUE IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS BOOK*

Colleen Hoover packs a punch in this bittersweet novel. Her writing is unlike other romance novels. She takes time to describe every event and chooses the right language at the right time, rather than heading straight to the point. She breaks and twists your heart in many ways but somehow manages to keep a beautiful ending.

We start off in the hospital with fifteen year old Auburn and her dying boyfriend, Adam. Right from the start Colleen Hoover is already breaking your heart. Auburn is ,for the last time, saying goodbye to Adam. Adam tells her that, “I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t,” I hated Lydia, from this point but I loved Adam and I definitely felt sorry for them.

Then when Auburn meets Owen and they start growing closer. I felt kind of uncomfortable as I felt bad for Adam. It took me a while to accept Owen but I eventually did. I loved the idea that Owen’s painting were based on confessions, it was a unique idea and worked really well. The pieces of artwork ,done by Danny O’Connor were beautiful and spoke a thousand words. The story behind them made them even better.

After Auburn and Owen’s first meeting, we see their normal lives and there are many questions that are left unanswered, which compelled me to continue reading. Colleen Hoover jumps into their lives without leaving the readers confused. I remember that my two main questions were “How did Owen know Auburn before?” and “What was Owen hiding?”. She injects humor when needed, which keeps the reader highly entertained.

When we discover that Owen is going to jail, I was really upset. However, I genuinely shocked when I discovered that Auburn has a child. I had to put down the book and let that fact set. When she said that “blue is his favorite color”, I thought she meant that it was Adam’s favorite color not AJ’s. I was really surprised that Owen kept cool about her son and didn’t have a major reaction.

I thought it was very realistic how she put her son first before her relationship because sometimes the main character in novels have priority issues but Auburn had it straight. It was really realistic but very dramatic. The drama was what made, Confess, a gripping, edge-of-your-seat novel, which I loved. I haven’t even gotten started on Trey, who I absolutely hated. I wanted to strangle him. He obviously doesn’t know what true love is. I hated how he constantly compared himself to Adam and Owen and treated Auburn like a doll rather than a real girlfriend. I loved watching how Auburn tried to keep calm in the midst of the calamity because that would be exactly how I would react.

The ending was my favorite part. I loved how the ending was a nearly complete resolution. This was the most emotional part. It all made sense by the end. We go back five years earlier and find out how Owen meets Adam, in the hospital. It explains how Owen knew Auburn while his father was in the hospital. We discover how he helped Auburn to have that final goodbye with Adam. I never expected that Adam’s painting was painted by Owen and how Adam was the one who told Owen to believe in second fate. It completed the circle and I loved how beautifully it ended.

This novel was amazing and I loved every single component, from the cover to the story line to the writing. I hope I can read more of her other novels because this one blew me away. I haven’t read a book this fast since The Ruby Circle. If you have read Confess by Colleen Hoover, share your thoughts in the comments below:

#lovebooks❤

2 thoughts on “Confess by Colleen Hoover-Review

Leave a Reply

