#bookreviews

Weightless by Sarah Bannan: Review

Title: Weightless
Author: Sarah Bannan
Release Date: 4th April 2015
Retail Price: $29.99
Overall Rating: 8.5/10
Genre: Drama, Contemporary, Romance

Weightless by Sarah Bannan is a gripping, haunting and thought-provoking novel. Fans of TV Shows and Movies such as Pretty-Little Liars, Gossip Girl and Mean Girls will adore this novel, that causes teenagers in our technology-based society to re-evaluate the real definition of “bullying”. I absolutely recommend it, after reading Weightless I was left breathless and it is hard to string words together to describe this novel. It follows the story of Carolyn Lessing through the eyes of a close witness. Carolyn has just moved from New Jersey to Adamsville, Alabama. She is beautiful and popular but as she tries to settle in to this small school rumors are released, making it harder and harder for her to cope in a pressuring life.

*SPOILERS FOR WEIGHTLESS BY SARAH BANNAN AHEAD*

Teenagers ,like us, are often told repeatedly by teachers and parents to be careful of the cyber bullies out there and bullies in the hallway but what they don’t know is that bullying is done via social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Sarah Bannan’s novel Weightless depicts the perfect example of bullying in a twentieth-century teenager. Bullying nowadays has been taken to a whole new level and I feel like we are oblivious to the effects of what we post on social media, how we talk to people at school and we can’t control our jealously.

Weightless captures flawlessly what bullying is like in this technology-run world. When we find out gossip the first thing we all do is share it with others, when we want to express our hatred we do it through status updates, when we are jealous of others we bend the truth and post bad photos of them. This is the truth that teenagers are running away from, as our technology advances we become more and more vulnerable to bullying.

Carolyn was a very three-dimensional character and is exactly like a real victim of bullying. We see on TV that the victimized are weak and nerdy but often like Carolyn, it is the one that people are jealous of that is bullied. I really liked how we see the story unfold through the eyes of a witness because we are usually the ones that sit by the side and watch the story. Sarah Bannan really displayed a teenager’s thoughts and words through the dialogue and writing, which made it the even more realistic.

It was really interesting to see how we could slowly see Carolyn mood declining but the narrator and the other students didn’t really make any attempt to stop Shane and Brooke. This novel really deals with the dark side of the teenager life- the bullying, the friendships and the coming-of-age thing. It was nice to read the Facebook posts, the group chats and the life chats of the characters because that is exactly how bullying plays out today.

I was actually really surprised that Carolyn commits suicide, I did not see that coming. I hated Brook and Shane, they were honestly the bullies, who are popular but everyone hates. Teachers and Parents were oblivious to the fact that their student/children were being bullied, and often this is how it plays out.This novel really relates to the teenagers of today, who constantly use technology and who are witnesses of this type of bullying.

Weightless is a very chilling novel, that deals with the contemporary-bullying of our society. Teenagers of all types will find that this novel hits them square in the chest of this depiction of bullying that nobody dares to admit.

❤Check out this book at your local-bookstore or library today!❤

#lovebooks

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s