#bookreviews

Since You’ve Been Gone: Review

Title: Since You’ve Been Gone
Author: Morgan Matson
Release Date: 6th May, 2014
Retail Price: $16.99
Overall Rating: 7/10
Genre: Coming-Of-Age, Contemporary, Romance, Chick-Lit

Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone is a chick-lit that is every teenage girl’s dream. It follows the story of Emily who loses her best friend mysteriously at the start of the summer. Emily, a shy girl misses Sloane, her best friend, who would push Emily to try new things. She then discovers that Sloane left her a list of thirteen tasks to do that will push Emily out of her tight comfort zone. Emily believes that by finishing those tasks she can get her best friend back but along the way she makes new friends and finds a new chance at love. I really enjoyed this book and it is great if you love chick-lit, it is a really fun novel to read and it isn’t something you find everyday.

*THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE BY MORGAN MATSON*

This book took me a while to get into it but it wasn’t bad. I guessed because I had a lot of high hopes, I wanted more from it., which is why I rated it a 7 out of 10. Don’t get me wrong, it was a lot of fun to read but the some of the characters were kind of shallow, which was a let down. I loved the storyline but there weren’t many extremely exciting scenes until the end.

I loved the character development of Emily. It was nice to see how she grew into this more out-going person, as she became friends with Frank and Dawn. We don’t get any resolution on Dawn and Emily’s relationship which annoyed me. Morgan Matson spent so much time building up their friendship. Then suddenly when the book ends, we get no resolution whatsoever on whether or not Dawn forgives Emily.

I did, however, loved watching Frank and Emily’s relationship slowly twisted together. I loved how they met while Emily was on her daily run and they started to exchange playlists because that was really cute. What annoyed me was that Emily kissed Frank, even when she knew clearly that Frank had a girlfriend. It was an idiotic move and it kind of destroyed the perception of Emily I had in my head.

I liked how there were flashbacks to Emily and Sloane’s previous adventures. That was a really smart way to describe how they both came to be who they are today. Another thing is we meet Collins and then he confronts Emily, who helps him have the confidence to date Dawn. Then when Emily is left alone all Collins does is tell her that she is on her own. The least he could do was to help Emily but he didn’t do anything.

It was enjoying to watch Emily cross the things off the list but the ending felt like it needed more. I thought it was really cute when Emily and Sloane reunite but then after that it kind of cut short. I really wanted more which is why it was only a seven from me.

I would love to read your thoughts about this novel, so comment down below what you liked or disliked about it!

By the way, thank you guys so much for 199 followers! You guys are amazing and I can’t believe that we nearly at 200! Thank you so much! You Guys ROCK!

Keep Reading❤#lovebooks

2 thoughts on “Since You’ve Been Gone: Review

Leave a Reply

