#bookreviews

White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout: Review

Title: White Hot Kiss
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: The Dark Elements
Release Date: 25th February, 2014
Retail Price: $16.99
Overall Rating: 8.5/10
Genre: Fantasy, Myths, Legends, Urban Mythology, Romance, Action, Thriller, Mystery

Lux was amazing and White Hot Kiss did not disappoint at all! Jennifer L. Armentrout pulled an ace out of a deck, I am super stoked to read the rest of the series. Don’t be fooled by the title or the cover because I’m telling you this book is amazing. If you loved Lux, trust me, this book will not let you down. I have been reading a lot of contemporary, as you can tell by my previous posts, but I’ve been missing all the action, romance and fantasy sagas. I heard from others that her other series were good and so I picked up The Dark Elements. It is like the Mortal Instruments meets Hush Hush and Lux!

White Hot Kiss follows the story of seventeen-year old Layla, who is half-demon, half gargoyle. She was raised by the gargoyles and has been told multiple times that demons are horrible creatures and should be killed. She was trained by Zayne, who Layla has been crushing on for a long time. One day, she meets a Demon, Roth, who mysteriously saves her and claims that he knows everything about her. Layla then discovers fragments of her history and as she pieces together, she becomes torn between two boys and two completely different worlds!

*THE FOLLOWING REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR WHITE HOT KISS*

I have three words: ZAYNE! ROTH! WHY?? I absolutely loved this novel and after reading this, I noticed how much I actually missed reading witty, adventure and fantasy novels. It is nothing like Lux, yet it was mind-blowingly good. At the start, we read about Layla getting attacked by a demon but then Roth mysteriously comes in and saves her. We then meet Zayne, who is such a lovable character. He was so nice, loving and protective but I am still wondering if Zayne actually loves Layla or if he only loves Layla in a brotherly way. I don’t know if I’m the only one who thought this but I was expecting Zayne to say I only love you like a sister to Layla.

Oh My God! Roth is honestly goals, I want to compare him to Daemon, from Lux, but he is nothing like Daemon. Roth is totally different but I still love his character. He is witty, sarcastic and so protective. You can easily see the differences between Roth and Zayne but they are both still amazing. When we discover that Roth is in the same class as Layla, I was expecting him to do something Daemon-like, such as, poking Layla with a pen or dipping his table down to talk to her but that never happened. I love Roth’s sense of humor. He was so protective of Layla. He is just perfect.

Zayne is also a lovable character. He was so nice Layla and you could tell how much he cared for her. I loved how Zayne and Layla had that tree-house. I was imagining that whole High-School Musical thing when Troy takes Gabriella to his Tree-House. That is why I am pretty much torn between Team Roth and Team Zayne, but maybe because I feel sorry for Roth I’m leaning towards him, but I believe that both are good for Layla. Layla is such as strong character. Yes, there are some times where she can be slightly whiny but I can totally relate to her. When she cries, its not in an annoying manner, its usually for a valid reason. I love how she doesn’t want to hide behind the boy’s back she wants to jump out and help. She is very much like a Rose (from Vampire Academy) but because she is not as experienced, she still makes mistakes, like when she sucked the soul out of Petr (I can’t even pronounce that name 🙂 ). I really like her character, it is unlike the usual weak heroines.

I loved the world building, it was easy to comprehend and it didn’t take that much memorising. Finding out that Lilith and Elijah were Layla’s parents was a huge shock. I did not see that coming. Abbot had that over-protective vibe but I didn’t really like him, for obvious reasons. But really what hit me was Roth’s sacrifice. I had no clue whatsoever that Roth was going to go to that fiery pit and it all made sense when the seer was like Roth will be in that fiery pit. Oh My God! I desperately need the next book because Roth!! The Feels!! Honestly, I need Roth and I am hoping that he will come back in the next book.

Overall, I had so much fun laughing out loud, screaming out loud and having my heart seized. I loved everything and I am so glad I picked up this book!

What did you think of this book- did you like or did you hate it? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

#lovebooks❤

4 thoughts on “White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout: Review

Leave a Reply

