#mythoughts

#mythoughtson The New Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices covers!

Hey Guys,

So last week all the new covers for The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices were released and I’m here to talk about my thoughts about these covers. They will, unfortunately, only be available in America :(. I know we are all internally crying but nevertheless I am still writing my thoughts about the covers but I’ll also write my thoughts on the new UK covers. I would love to read your thoughts about the covers in the comments below!

So first of all for all those who don’t know the covers in the photo above are the front covers of The Infernal Devices. Here are the photos of the spines and covers of the Mortal Instruments

Despite my previous post on these covers, where I pretty much full on ranted on about how bad the City of Bones covers was, after seeing the whole set it actually isn’t as bad as I was expecting. Yes, there may be still times where I think it looks to much like fan art but that kind of brings out this authenticity to the the covers. I think out of all the Mortal Instruments covers City of Ashes is might favorite. I also really like the color scheme as it is eye catching and give off this dark mood, which is what the series is like. I much prefer these covers as the old covers seemed really old fashion, especially with the real people on the front. With these covers they are a lot more modernised and eye-catching. I also don’t like the “ABC Family” stickers but I guess we can’t avoid that- for marketing reasons.

I wonder if the covers will be soft or glossy because the covers will look much better on a soft cover as the photo is a mellow drawing and it would look much better soft than reflective- on a glossy cover. A lot of new covers are adopting the spin concept- where when you put all the spines togethqer it will create a beautiful photo and I think that was a great idea to integrate it into these covers. The spines look amazing when placed together, my favorite is the Infernal Devices one as it looks like an abstract art of the Blackfriars Bridge. The Mortal Instruments spine also looks really cool together as each book has a certain character on it.

On to the UK Covers, which look stunning and I can’t wait to get my hands on it. I think I will buy the new UK Covers because they literally look like abstract art that deserves to be on Tumblr. I am so proud of it and I can’t wait to see a real-life copy of the cover. It looks vintage as the abstract art inside each shape on the cover looks like a piece of art in church. I think it was a really smart idea to do the abstract art with angels inside as it is based around angels and is also based on lots of angelic history and the covers really convey the main message of the book. I love how in every corner in the book there is an angelic rune because it keeps the cover uniform. I also love how each cover has it’s own shape- City of Bones is a sun and City of Glass is a rose. It also has a really eye-catching color scheme because the previous covers were really “Old-fashion” and I think with these covers it will definitely attract more readers. I am really happy with the UK covers.

I honestly can’t wait for these covers to come out in September this year. I will definitely be buying the UK ones or maybe the US ones- I can’t choose! I seriously am so excited that they decided to revamp the covers because they seriously needed new blood in this series in order to attract new readers!

I hope you guys like the covers as well!

#lovebooks❤

 

11 thoughts on “#mythoughtson The New Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices covers!

  1. UK covers are gorgeous! Unfortunately I found out about them right after I bought the whole TMI set with their original covers. The spines together look stunning!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like the new TMI US covers, but I like the old covers as well. I’m not a huge fan of the new TID US covers; I still prefer the old ones, but I like that they’ve revamped both series’ covers. They look new, fresh, and modern, and I really like how they draw the eye. I can’t wait to get them in paperback! #NewTMICovers #NewTIDCovers

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

