#mythoughts

#mythoughts on… Shadowhunters TV Show

Guess what was on last night???

The Shadowhunters TV show! I woke up in the morning and one of the things that were buzzing around in my head was the fact that we get to see one of my favourite series get put onto the TV screen! I had my hopes super high (I couldn’t help it 🙂 ), as I sat down in front of my computer with a smoothie in my hand to watch The Shadowhunters. Here are #mythoughts on this highly anticipated show: What did you think of it? (There will be spoilers for both the series and the TV Show in the post)

To be honest, I have mixed feelings about the show. I really enjoyed and I had so much fun watching it. However, it wasn’t really like the novel. As a booklover, one of the things we wish to see is our favourite series being turned into a TV show or movie, which stays true to the novel.

The Shadowhunter’s plot seems to be heading in the same way as the novel: Jocelyn is still taken by Valentine, Clary is disoriented after the events in Pandemonium and Valentine is still out to search for The Mortal Cup. Despite that, the events that take place in the TV show are in a different sequence to the order that they take place in the novel. For example, we discover early in the film that Clary’s memories of the Shadow world were taken by Magnus Bane and that Alec has a crush on Jace. This meant that some of the spoilers from City of Bones have already been relayed in the first episode. I didn’t really like that as it was one of the twists and turns which makes the novel enjoyable, but perhaps, they have to cater to an audience which has not read the series. I’m glad that they attempted to do that as it provides the show to target a wider audience. The plot differs to the one in the novel but its a fresh change which I hope to continue to appreciate. It’s a TV show based on a famous book series and it isn’t a surprise that they will be some major and little differences to the novel. The fact that its still quite similar to the novels is already an achievement.

Now onto the characters! Clary was played by Kat Mcnamara and I have to say I’m so excited to see what else she does with her character. I loved watching her play Clary as she is not too “damsel-in-distress” like not too “I’m the best heroine in the world” :). She played the character really well and its exactly like how I imagined her to be. She really showed the audience that she really cared for her mother and that she is truly disoriented. At the start of the film, we really get to know more about her personality which suited to book exactly. I also really enjoyed the “friendly” relationship with her and Simon. You could really tell that she only regarded him as a friend but Simon didn’t. I can’t wait to see what happens to their relationship further on in the show.

Jace was sadly not one of the main characters in the episode but I still love his character. However, I felt like some of his lines were a bit scripted but I still love this quote, “All the legends are true,” that was conveyed really well. Unfortunately, the relationship between him and Clary didn’t have as much chemistry as I liked but its only the first episode and I’m excited to see it futher develop. I love Dom Sherwood as Jace and I wasn’t very disappointed. Simon was played perfectly and he was portrayed the best out of the all the characters this episode, he was goofy but you could tell he still really like Clary. He was comfortable around Clary’s parents and it seemed like him and Clary have always been best friends.

At first I was skeptical about Luke being a “police” but it began to make sense and I actually like that. It helps to explain some parts of the novel a lot better, such as, being a werewolf. I was very surprised that I ended up liking his the way his character was portrayed. Isabelle was not as sassy as she was in the novel but I think Emeraude looks very much like an Isabelle. Maureen, at first confused me. When I first heard her name I thought, “Maureen? The crazy little girl in the novel? What is happening?”. As the episode continued I discovered that she was part of Simon’s band and to this moment I’m still skeptical about her character.

Overall I really enjoyed watching this episode. I was not disappointed and I can’t wait for episode two. The Mortal Instruments were one of the first Young-Adult novels I read and therefore, when I watched the show it made me feel a little nostalgic. When I finished the episode, it left me with that desire to reread the series without knowing anything about but mostly, it left me with the desire to jump into that fantasy world of Shadowhunters. Watching them wield Seraph blades and watching Clary discover the whole Shadow world, leaves me with that elated feeling in my heart knowing that I get to follow along the Mortal Instruments journey one more time.

What did you think of the show?

#lovebooks❤

9 thoughts on “#mythoughts on… Shadowhunters TV Show

  1. I thought it was great to finally watch the show, but at the same time I was also really disappointed. Contrary to you, I think Kat is a terrible Clary :/ and they rushed everything so much instead of taking the time to really give it all some more depth. They do have 13 episodes, so there should be enough time. I want to love this show so bad and I will surely watch every single episode, but I expected something different.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was slightly disappointed with certain aspects of the show, but I loved the cast and will most definitely continue to watch the series. Watching the show also made me want to re-read the series, which I will most likely do in the near future! 🙂 Great review of the show, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have absolutely similar opinions lok you do about the sequence of events not syncing with that of the novel’s. But as a person viewing this show without reading the book, it’s indeed a great one! And you’ve Dominic Sherwood starring a Jase, what more can you ask for? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

